Bias Crimes Unit

Bias Crimes Unit

The Bias Crimes Unit is staffed with Assistant Prosecutors and Investigators tasked with the investigation and prosecution of Bias crimes within Passaic County. 

A Bias Incident is an act which targets a person, group of persons, or property because because of a bias against one's:

Race, Color, Religion, Gender, Disability, Sexual Orientation, National Origin, and Ethnicity

The Bias Legal Team consists of and can be contacted via the below email:

Senior Assistant Prosecutor In-Charge Jennifer Fetterman - jfetterman@passaiccountynj.org
Assistant Prosecutor Jessica Kalafut - jkalafut@passaicccountynj.org
Assistant Prosecutor Billy Can - Bcan@passaiccountynj.org
Assistant Prosecutor Jessica Petrella - Jpetrella@passaiccountynj.org

The Bias Investigative Team consists of:

Detective Sergeant Michael Boone - Mboone@passaiccountynj.org
Detective Sergeant Maria Tejada - Mtejada@passaiccountynj.org
Detective First Grade Lisette Colon - Lcolon@passaiccountynj.org